Sunday, June 23, 2013
Centerville Weekly Citizen
9 September 1871
George M. Teegarden, son of Mr. G. M. Teegarden, of this county, designs boing this fall to the National Mute-College at Washington, to continue his studies and fit himself for the duties of an instructor. He recently returned from Council Bluffs where he was in attendance at the State Institute for the Deaf and Dumb. We wish him unbounded success in his honorable pursuit.
Fare Reduced -- For the accommodation of persons desiring to attend our County Fair, to be held at Centerville on the 12th, 13th and 14th inst., the fare on the Southwestern R.R. has been reduced to sixty percent of the regular rate, between Washington, Iowa, and Trenton, Missouri. This is liberal on the part of the road and will be appreciated by our people generally.
No Go. -- Democracy attempted a new departure in this county last Saturday, but failed signally, as heretofore. They thought to make a masterly stroke by placing on their ticket a woman for Superintendent of Schools, and tendered informally the nomination to Mrs. M. E. Gill of Centerville. She, however, declined the empty honor with a remark that in her judgement the Republican nominee, Mr. G. C. Goodenough, was an excellent man for the place. She is of the opinion that it is not province of woman to mingle in political strife, and holds the schools of the county as well as the superintendent should in no manner whatever be mixed with county politics.
The County Fair begins next Tuesday. Don't forget it.
The Eden Association of Missionary Baptists is in session at Livingston, and will adjourn next Monday.
Send for the Iowa Homestead of Des Moines by Gen. Wilson. It tells all about farming. Only $2.00 per year.
A Daily Citizen will be issued during the Fair, for free distribution on the Fair Grounds. Fifteen hundred copies will be printed each day. Advertisements should be handled at once.
Shall the sale of wine and beer be forbidden in Appanoose County? This important question will be decided by the voters at the election this fall. Of course it will be decided in the affirmative.
The new Methodist Church at Jerome will be dedicated on Sunday, September 17th, at 11 A.M. Rev. C. S. Jennis will preach the dedicatory sermon. Rev. R Stephenson will preach at 3 P.M. Other ministers are expected.
A new kind of tea, called "Thea-Nectar," is for sale at this place by Jacob Rummel, which tea drinkers pronounce delicious. It is used in the best hotels in cities; and is cheaper than common tea. If the package sent us is a sample of the rest, it is worth a trial.
Saturday, June 22, 2013
The Centerville Weekly Citizen
18 March 1871
The school in district No. 5, Lincoln township, will close on Friday, March 24th, after five months session. J. B. Horner is the teacher. The last two days will be devoted to examinations. All are invited.
Jerome Items -- A new frame school house has been built at Jerome and the Methodists hold services in it every Sunday. --Henry Wilson, the good blacksmith of that place, is also postmaster. --J. M. Crouch has opened a blacksmith shop about one mile west of Jerome. --Peter Sidles has built a good bank barn.
The new town laid out at the depot of the C. & S. W. at Bellair by Huston & Harvey, is called Numa. The people of Bellair, we are informed, desire to have the name of that place changed to Numa, so as to conform with the name of the postoffice, thereby preventing mistakes in mail matter, as Johnson county, this state, has a postoffice called Bellair.
--Farmers have commenced sowing spring wheat.
--The season for planting trees is at hand. Let all improve the opportunity.
--The boarding train left here Thursday morning for Bellair. The track layers are about two miles on the other side of that place.
--Why not pay female school teachers, who do an equal amount of work and do it equally as well,as much as male teachers receive?
Friday, November 4, 2011
The Seymour Herald - 27 October 2011
Everyone is invited to a Bluegrass Halloween soup supper and music at the Jerome United Methodist Church Sunday.
See ad in this issue for time.
Monday, July 25, 2011
Seymour Herald - 14 July 2011
There will be bluegrass, gospel music and a barbeque Sunday, July 17. A free will donation will be taken.
On the menu will be pulled pork and beef, potato salad, baked beans, chips, salad, cookies, melon and drink.
The music will be bluegrass gospel music by the Exline family, Jerry Vinden and family, Tasha Irving and Fine Line Bluegrass.
Tuesday, April 13, 2010
The Seymour Herald - 25 March 2010
The Jerome Church will be serving a smorgasbord this Sunday from 11:30-1:30. The menu includes roast beef, turkey and dressing, vegetables, salads, desserts and drink. Cost is $7 for adults and $3.50 for children.
Saturday, April 10, 2010
by Myrtle E. Felkner
was a region of small farms and tiny villages set amidst the coal fields of the early part of the century. Appanoose County Many of the towns were experiencing loss of business and loss of population, as the former coal-mining families moved to the cities in search of employment. Many small churches were struggling to exist and to provide ministry for the farmers and small business families who live in the area.
Pastor George Gibson of the
First United Methodist Church in Centerville and Pastor Tom Woodin of Grace United Methodist Church of Moravia began to construct a dream: a rural parish consisting of all the United Methodist churches in , with a central office, a central staff of several pastors and a Christian Educator. After a series of meetings throughout the area, in which the members of the various congregations gleaned information and later voted whether or not to join the parish, seven churches voted to begin a parish ministry. Those members were the First United Methodist Church of Centerville (the largest church in the group with over 500 members) and six smaller congregations in Jerome, Appanoose County , Numa, Mystic, Unionville and Exline. A contest was held to name the parish, with the winner being David Wright of Cincinnati , and thus began Faith United Parish in June of 1972. Cincinnati
Pastor George Gibson was named by the Bishop as Director of the Parish. Pastor Dale Wilfong was also appointed to the Parish, with a lay speaker, Burrel Browns, to assist with preaching duties on a rotating basis. Myrtle E. Felkner, a long-time educator and laboratory leader in the Conference, was hired as the Educational Assistant. Felkner directed Christian Education in all seven of the Parish churches, with one of the pastors taking over duties with the
youth groups. Felkner led youth groups in Unionville and Numa. Betty Russell continued her work as secretary of the Centerville church, but now becoming office manager of Faith United Parish. Betty’s efficiency and energy were invaluable to the Parish. Centerville
The structure of the Parish was simple. The combined seven churches worked under a centralized budget, a percentage of which was apportioned to each church according to the percentage of its membership to the total membership and in direct ratio to its Conference claims. Local autonomy was retained and the upkeep of each building was handled locally. In addition to local offerings, the Parish received support from a Bishop’s Call to Methodist Builders of Iowa. The Parish received support also from the Board of Missions and from Advance Specials.
Each church in the Parish was represented by three members who were assigned to work as a Parish Council, the administrative body.
Pastor Dale Wilfong left in l973, and that appointment was filled by Pastor Jim Schweizer, who became a long-time pastor and resident of the county. Mike Jackson, a student at
, served at this time as lay speaker assisting the pastors. Indian Hills Community College
Other pastors through the years at the Parish were Lynn Ryon,
Mark Whipple, Bob Crum, Kathy Marker, Paul Smith, Jim Metheny, Richard Krambeck, David Dunsmore, John Van Weldon, Lewis Flanagan, Pam Flanagan, Jennifer Corley, Elsa Lawry, Kim Crummer, Ted Showers, and Larry Prosser. Directors of the Parish following George Gibson were Pastors William Ballard and David Higdon. Each pastor rotated preaching duties at the member churches, attended all Parish Council monthly meetings, and rotated duties at meetings in individual churches. Parishioners chose pastors for weddings, funerals and baptisms according to their desires.
The Parish was soon known for its extensive ministries in Christian Education. A Parish van was purchased with Advance Specials money and was used for transporting groups to camps, after school programs, etc. After-school programs for children were initiated in six of the churches; the seventh church had a monthly Super Saturday for its children. All churches held individual Vacation Bible Schools on consecutive weeks during the summer, with one huge Day Camp for all children of the Parish to conclude the summer ministries. Children’s choirs, youth camps and trips, and persons taking Bible-centered films to the nursing homes of the area were among special ministries. There were needs enough to go around! At one time almost a hundred volunteers were involved in the Christian Education ministries of the Parish.
Christian Education goals were as follows:
1) We want each person to know God as Creator, Jesus as Redeemer, and the Holy Spirit as God present with us.
2) We will provide one hundred hours of supervised Christian Education for each individual each year.
3) We want each child and youth to have an ongoing relationship with a caring Christian adult.
Myrtle Felkner left the Parish in 1985 to assume a position as Director of Christian Education in Small Membership Churches on the General Board of Discipleship of the United Methodist denomination. The position on the Parish was then filled by Naomi Garcia. .
The entire staff of Faith United Parish was often called upon to lead groups in conferences and seminaries on the structure and ministry of a rural parish. Among those were Garrett Theological Seminary of Chicago,
St. Paul’s Theological Seminary of Kansas City, and the Dubuque School of Theology in . Dubuque, Iowa
The ministry of the Parish lasted for over thirty years, ending as out-migration brought the population down and smaller churches were forced to close. Still its ministry continues; the
designated all its remaining assets to a scholarship program. When the Mystic church closed, it added to that fund. Each year a committee consisting of one member from each of the remaining churches meets to go over scholarship applications from college young people, awarding as many as possible each year. “Have a Heart Sunday” is the nearest Sunday to Valentine’s Day and is designated as a time when further contributions to the Faith United Parish Scholarship Fund are welcome. Exline United Methodist Church Many young people from former Parish member churches have benefited from the Exline church’s foresight and generosity.
Rev. Joan Ervin, who worked extensively in several Parish ministries, in later years attended the
Iowa School for Lay Ministry and is now pastor of the Cincinnati and . Her daughter, the Rev. Alberta Ervin, also entered the ministry, attending seminary at Unionville United Methodist Churches St. Paul’s . School of Theology was one of the first Parish youngsters to come to a Parish after-school ministry event. Alberta
On the very last Sunday of Faith United Parish, Stephanie Phelps and her daughter Daveena Surber were baptized in the
. Mystic United Methodist Church
And so United Methodist ministry continues in
. The church at Jerome is still active, known for its community warmth and service. The pastor is now the Rev. Shari Squires, also a graduate of the Appanoose County Iowa School for Lay Ministry and now a student in the Course of Study at St. Paul’s School of Theology in . Her husband Richard Squires and Jerome church member Darin Kansas City Manson now also attend the for Lay Ministry. Iowa School
The editor sincerely appreciates the contribution by Myrtle E. Felkner of Centerville of this article to The Jerome Journal on this important phase in the history of the United Methodist Church in Appanoose County.
Friday, March 12, 2010
Daily Iowegian – 25 June 2009
The Jerome United Methodist Church will be holding the Second Annual Bluegrass and BBQ celebration Saturday, June 27 starting at 4 p.m. at the Jerome United Methodist Church, 13334 524th St., Centerville. Barbeque, sides and drinks will be provided. A hayride and live music by Fine Line Bluegrass will be available to all attendees. Donations will be graciously accepted. Bring your lawn chairs. Contact Pastor Shari Squires for more information at (641) 898-7786.
Thursday, January 28, 2010
Thursday, January 21, 2010
The Appanoose Times - 7 July 1881
Ed. Times: -- Perhaps a few items from Jerome may be of interest to some of your readers. If you think so please accept the following:
Owing to the recent rains the farmers are a little behind with their corn plowing. Grain of all kinds is looking well, and the propsect is good for an abundant harvest.
June 12th was a very pleasant and enjoyable day at Jerome. It was the annual Children's Day of the M. E. Church. Arrangements had been made during the previous week to make the occasion one of interest and profit to all. The church had been tastefully decorated with evergreens, flowers, appropriate mottos and cages of birds which added much to the enjoyment of the day. The morning exercise and address on the origin and design of "Children's Day" by the Pastor, B. M. Boydston. In the afternoon short addresses were made by Messrs. A. C. Stone, John Dukes, John Moss and Martin Davison. Vocal and instrumental music were interspersed through the other exercises. All seemed to enjoy the occasion and wish for many returns of this day for the Jerome S. School. Our summer school closes Thursday, July 1st. Mr. John Moss, the teacher, has given entire satisfaction, we believe, and efforts will be made to obtain his services for the winter term.
Messrs. Newt Moore and George O'Neal , have gone into the western part of the state to look for new homes. We are sorry to have them leave us.
Mr. Lewis Morris is building himself a fine residence to be completed in a few weeks. Messrs. Buck and Wilson are the contractors.
Mr. Noah Stoner will also build soon after harvest.
We noticed the genial countenance of your fellow townsman, James Hamilton, in the congregation of last Sabbath. We presume he rides out for his health as he frequently comes this way of late.
Rev. A. Kershaw and wife, of Albia, are visiting with Peter Sidles, father of Mrs. Kershaw. Their many friends will be glad to welcome them among us.
J. H. Hard, former pastor of this work, with his family, will be the guests of Mrs. John Pendergast a few days this week.
Saturday, July 18, 2009
One of the favorite events of the Jerome Methodist Church has been the family and community dinners at which everyone brought some food and shared it with everyone else. These pictures were probably taken during the late 1940s.
Agnes Buckallew, Donna Hibbs, Mary Lou Morris,
Genevieve Rash, Shirley Johnson
and Louise Condra (Teacher).
Marjorie McElvain, Phyllis Hawkins, Deloris Rash
and Barbara King.
Delbert King, Paul Van Blaricom and Freeman Squires
Saturday, June 20, 2009
The Seymour Herald - 29 December 1949
The Jerome Methodist church was presented with the picture, "Head of Christ" by Sallman, in a service during the Christmas program Christmas eve. The gift, given in memory of Mr. and Mrs. George Sidles, who were faithful members of the church, was sent by the Rev. Roy Mills family of Patterson, N.J. Mrs. Mills was the former Mary Sidles.
Several members of the family were there to see the picture presented by Rev. M. R. Gonzales and George Sidles, Jr., and accepted by the official board of the church. They were the George Sidles family, the Peter Sidles family, Mrs. J. E. Condra, the Merrill Condra family, Miss Georgia Sidles and Miss Susie Sidles.
The Christmas program was given by Mrs. Paul Felkner and the choir, the children of the Sunday School and was under the direction of Mrs. Joe Beer, Mrs. James Felkner and Mrs. Tony Blozevich.
Sunday, May 24, 2009
The Seymour Herald - 22 September 1955
JEROME--The centennial anniversary of the Jerome Methodist church was observed Sunday, Sept. 18, with a large crowd present for the basket dinner at noon and the reception in the social room at 4 o'clock.
One hundred and eighty-four signed the register.
It is interesting to note that some of the first trustees of the Jerome church were Calvin R. Jackson, James Hagan, Peter Sidles and James M. Kinney and on this anniversary several of their direct descendants were present.
Mrs. Pherma Darrah and her daughter, Mrs. Harvey Bettis, both of Seymour, were present, Mrs. Darrah being a granddaughter and Mrs. Bettis a great-granddaughter of Calvin Jackson.
The daughter of James Hagan, Mrs. Emma Ogle, now is an invalid, but Miss Cadd Hawkins and A. F. Hawkins, both of Davenport, were grandchildren and Bill Hawkins, also of Davenport, a great-grandson, also were present.
Mrs. Effie Houx of Cedar Rapids, a niece of James Kinney, was present and Peter, George and Susie Sidles, Mrs. Ettie Condra, all members of the church at the present time, and Mrs. Mary Sidles Mills of Des Moines all were present for the centennial and are grandchildren of Peter Sidles. His great grandchildren present were Pete, Louise, Luella and Janice Sidles.
This indicated that the good work of the ancestors can be carried through many generations.
Two former ministers were present, Rev. and Mrs. H. B. Fay of Crawfordsville and Rev. and Mrs. J. E. McClellen and Paul and Karen of Humeston. Both gave helpful addresses. The rest of the program was carried out by local people.
Mrs. Paul Felkner gave a brief history of the church, mentioning the growth through the years and the latest preparatory member, Mark William Hefner, who was born Sept. 11, son of Mr. and Mrs. Norman Hefner. His name was added to the cradle roll the first week of his life.
Mrs. Gail Felkner was chairman of the committee and was assisted by others of the church in doing a good job to make it a success.
The large cake was baked by Mrs. Alfred McWilliams of Aredale, the mother of Mr.s Paul Felkner. She baked and donated the cake to the church.
Flowers were given by the Stagner and Watson floral companies in Centerville, by Mrs. Orpha Deibert of Sac City and by Clarence and Jess Young of Centerville, who mother, the late Mrs. Ollie Young, was a long-time member of the Jerome church.
Among the out-of-town people who came for the day were Mr. and Mrs. A. F. Hawkins, Mrs. W. E. Hawkins and Bill of Davenport, Mrs. Eugene McKern and Mrs. Bertha Blanie of Mystic, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Mickey, Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Bettis, Mrs. Pherma Darrah, Mrs. Rachel Glenn, Mr. and Mrs. Harry Johnson, Mr. and Mrs. Harold McElvain and children, Jerri Berge, all of Seymour. Then from Cincinnati were Miss Betty Cousins, Mr. and Mrs. L. A. Holbrook and from Promise City Mrs. Iris Holmes, Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Hellyer, Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Brattain and Mrs. Ada Long.
From Numa were Mr. and Mrs. Tony Grenko and Janice, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Gillispie, Mrs. Rebecca Martin and Mrs. Cecil Crouch.
Mr. and Mrs. Ray Robinson, Mrs. Ted Francisco and Mr. and Mrs. Howard Swan came from Oskaloosa, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Swan of New Sharon, Mrs. Hazel Thompson and Ann and Alice of Ottumwa, Mr. and Mrs. Bill Dudley of Moulton and from Centerville came Mr. and Mrs. L. H. Reisner, Miss Leola Rinker, Mrs. Frank Thomas, Mr. and Mrs. Charley DePuy, Mrs. Inez Fry, Mrs. Stella Hunter, Mrs. Ruth Evans, Mr. and Mrs. Edward Sexton, Mrs. Mattie Jerrard, Mrs. Maggie Anderson and Mrs. Emma McCulloch.
Also Mrs. Effie Houx of Cedar Rapids, Rev. and Mrs. Roy H. Mills of Des Moines, Mr. and Mrs. Mervin Burkett and Raymond of Des Moines, Miss Shirley Larson of Cedar Falls, Rev. and Mrs. H. F. Fay of Crawfordsville and Rev. and Mrs. J. E. McClellen and Karen and Paul of Humeston.
Letters were read from Miss Emma Ogle of Centerville, Rev. M. R. Gonzales of Barnes City and Rev. J. A. Wilson of Crown Point, Ind., and others.
Mr. and Mrs. Bert F. Murphy have received word of the birth of a daughter to Mr. and Mrs. Donald Owen at Jackson, Mich. The baby's name is Paula Gayle. Mrs. Owen was the former Marilyn Murphy.
Rev. and Mrs. Roy H. Mills of Des Moines spent Sunday night with the George Sidles family and Monday with the Peter Sidles'.
Mrs. Effie Houx of Cedar Rapids is spending a few days with Miss Susie Sidles.
Jerri Berge of Seymour spent the week end with Mary Mincks.
Bert A. Murphy returned Saturday from Jackson, Mich., where he had been employed for the summer and left on Monday for Iowa City where he is a senior at the University.
Jim Condra left Wednesday for Ames where he is enrolled at Iowa State College.
W. E. Hawkins came from Davenport Monday to take Miss Cadd Hawkins to make her home there. The Frank Longs of north of town will move to the Hawkins home which they have purchased.
Friday, April 24, 2009
The Seymour Herald - 22 December 1955
By Susie R. Sidles
The year 1955 is the centennial year of the Jerome Methodist church. It was observed at an all-day meeting September 18, 1955. At that time several papers gave a brief history. So many have asked questions and discussed the past 100 years that I have tried to collect the history as far as possible.
The first history there is any record of was collected by Ettie Sidles, now Mrs. J. E. Condra, for an Old People's Day that was observed in 1905. The pastor of the church was Rev. George Blagg. For this occasion the local people had part in the program and Rev. Springer, the foster father of Rev. Blagg, gave the address. His text was Colossians 8-11, "Christ is all and in All."
At that time a number of people were living that remembered the building of the first church and Miss Sidles collected from the the following history in part.
In 1855 the Jerome Methodist church was organized. The first meetings were held at the George Jackson home about five miles west of Jerome. The people remember the circuit rider's name being Allender and the conference journal gave the name Richard Ballender as entering the conference in 1854. It is presumed it was he.
First Conference Held
The first conference session was held in Iowa City in 1844, so it was only 10 years later the Jerome circuit was organized. This circuit composed the greater part of Appanoose county.
After holding services at Jackson's for about one year they then came to the home of William McClain. The farm for many years was owned by Jesse Kinney and is now the C. E. Ervin farm.
They continued holding services then until after the school house was built in 1857.
In the fall of 1870, they commenced to build a church. The work was mostly donated. Men took their teams and wagons and went into Missouri and cut the lumber and hauled it to the mill and from the mill, home. They would often be gone a week and sometimes two before they returned home. The heavy lumber was gotten in this way and the flooring, siding, and shingles were hauled from Albia. Rev. J. M. Loughridge was the pastor. He was a local minister and lived northwest of Jerome on a farm.
Dedication Was in 1871
James Hagan and Allan Taylor superintended the carpenter work. Mrs. Hagan and Mrs. Calvin Jackson boarded the workmen without cost. In October 1871 the building was dedicated. The land for the church was deeded to them by Peter and Susan Sidles. It was a gift and the deed was recorded June 23, 1871.
Older people telling of this dedication said it was a great day and the house was crowded.
Women of the community had donated rags and Mrs. Jackson had woven carpets for the aisles.
The dedicatory address was given by a Rev. Jenico and his text was taken from John 6-12, "Gather up the fragments that remain that nothing be lost."
The charter members of the church were Jim Kinney and wife; George Jackson and wife; Delila Jackson, mother of Calvin Jackson; and a woman known as Grandma Thomas.
The trustees were Calvin E. Jackson, James Hagan, John Pendergast, Peter Sidles and James M. Kinney.
Organ Purchased in 1886
There was no musical instrument until 1886 when an organ was purchased. Mamie Kinney was the first organist and continued until her death in 1893. This organ lasted until the present piano was purchased in 1903.
Many remember several years later the lovely music furnished by Ova Kinney, his sister Maude, and John Shelton and daughter, ...., who ran a store in Jerome ... years. Effie Kinney, now Mrs. Effie Houx of Cedar Rapids, accompanied them and was the organist for many years.
J. W. Pendergast was Sunday school superintendent many years in the old church. But there were others, Jane Barton, D. D. Wilson, Emma Hagan, now Mrs. Ogle, and Ettie Sidles, now Mrs. Condra, and no doubt others.
One person who will always be remembered as a part of the old church was the janitor, W. R. Morrison, a well known character who built fires, rang the bell, put oil in the lamps, and was present for all occasions for many years. He came to the community with Peter Sidles and James Hagan from Ohio in 1854 and remained here until his death May 22, 1918.
During a great revival, under the leadership of Rev. J. H. Krenmyre in 1909, the church grew and the town had grown because of the mining industry and many people began to want a new church.
Old Church Sold
On May 6, 1911, the old church was sold by the well-known auctioneer Ben Wells, who donated his services, and it was purchased by Henry Purdy for $200. It was moved down into the town and for many years was used for a store building, but was recently sold to the county and used for county machinery.
As a farewell service in the old church a program was given and Mrs. Ettie Condra gave a brief history of the church again and wrote the following poem:
And now old church, we say good bye,
Your doors to us will close,
You've stood the test for many years,
Like members of your fold.
You've ever had a welcome hand,
To rich and poor alike.
You've done your best for two score years,
To lead men to the light.
You've been the scene of sad events,
Held many a breaking heart.
They've gathered here from far and near,
When pierced by trouble's dart.
You've been the scene of joy supreme,
When souls so tired of sin,
Found to their greatest happiness,
That Christ could them redeem.
Many good times we've had together,
Both in fair and stormy weather.
But at last we say farewell,
We can hear the parting knell.
Nothing earthly can abide,
There must come an even tide.
And to all sometime, some day,
Comes the parting of the way.
So it has come the time to go,
We feel sad that it is so.
But thy day and work is o'er,
And 'tis best to close the door.
And as we new duties take,
And our new acquaintance make,
May it be to us most dear,
Dearer with each coming year.
May we to it believe true,
Doing all that we can do.
Knowing what is done in love,
Will be done for Him above.
Done for Him whose watchful eye,
Guides the earth, the seas, the sky.
And who'll lead us by the hand,
Till we reach the golden strand.
And when we assemble there,
And in wonder view the scenes so fair,
Scenes ever new as we behold,
For in heaven things will n'er grow old.
The building committee for the new church was Joe Barton, chairman; David Loofburrow, treasurer, and L. J. Norris. The local minister was James Priestnal. Since there was no fund to start with these men worked very hard and spent many hours collecting the money. Much credit was given David Loofburrow and Joe Barton for hours spent collecting the funds. D. D. Wilson was the carpenter and was known as a perfect workman. It was dedicated Dec. 17, 1911. The seating capacity was 300 and the house was filled. Rev. E. J. Shook, the district superintendent, preached, using as his text I Chronicles 17-12, "He shall build me an house and I shall establish his throne forever." The local minister at the time was Rev. J. H. Krenmyre.
Church Remembered in Will
At the death of Anna Gorman in 1937 her will continued from the will of Mrs. Maria Pendergast left half their possessions to the Jerome Methodist church. Their home in Jerome was soon sold and a small sum of cash was collected and there was much enthusiasm that a kitchen and social room be built on the church. It had been talked of at the time the church was built but there were not sufficient funds.
On June 27, 1939, the church people and trustees met to discuss plans for the addition. Several who were trustees did not care to serve as a building committee and they finally organized with J. W. Workman, G. D. Mincks, L. J. McElvain, Mrs. G. D. Mincks and Susie Sidles. The pastor was Rev. J. E. McClellan.
The contract was let Aug. 7, 1939, to Claude Lepper and Roy Packard of Numa. Except the money from the Gorman fund the money was raised by small subscriptions from many people, the largest being from Mr. and Mrs. Harry Stark. Much labor was donated.
The dedication was Nov. 19, 1939. Dr. Levi P. Goodman, then district superintendent, preached, using as his text Ezekiel 47-9. The basket dinner at noon in the new room was attended by 200 people. Two former pastors, Rev. J. A. Wilson and Rev. S. P. Trostle, were present. It was dedicated in memory of Mrs. Maria Pendergast and Anna Gorman.
Another occasion when church history was read and is remembered by many as a "big day" was when the 65th anniversary was observed in 1920. The Rev. S. P. Trostle was the pastor, Rev. W. H. Perdew, district superintendent, preached the sermon, and the Rev. F. V. Getty, pastor at Exline, had part in the service.
Since there was much need for more Sunday school room and the Gorman estate had been fully settled, there was much talk of extending the old kitchen into the social room and adding a new kitchen.
In the fall of 1953 the official board met and again chose J. W. Workman as chairman of a building committee with Eugene Glenn and Mrs. Gail Felkner. Various committees were chosen for different things and Mrs. Joe Beer had a large part in planning the kitchen. Paul McElvain was treasurer.
The old church was completely renovated and blocks put on the ceiling, walls redecorated, floors sanded and a porch built on the front. Mrs. Charley McGavran, Mrs. W. R. Hefner and Susie Sidles ere in charge of that work. Carl Barbaglia of Mystic was the carpenter and Paul Felkner assisted him much of the time.
Many hours of labor were donated by men of the church and community. Some donated as much as two weeks labor. Everything was completed in early January 1954. The church and all additions were dedicated free of debt.
The Epworth League was originally organized in 1889. Three years later an Epworth League was organized at Jerome Aug. 14, 1892. W. B. Williams, then of Centerville, came out and organized with 18 members. J. L. Payne, then a merchant here, was made president and Miss Ella Thomas, the late Mrs. George Sidles, was secretary. There has been an Epworth League or MYF with only a few short periods of disbanding through the years. Some of the Epworth League presidents were Emma Ogle, Ettie Sidles, Cadd Hawkins, Susie Sidles, Mrs. Joe Barton and many others. MYF leaders have been Mrs. A. F. Hawkins, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Felkner, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Mincks and the present sponsor is Peter Sidles.
People remember the early ladies aid leaders as Mrs. Addison Pendergast, Mrs. George Sidles, Mrs. George Frogge, Mrs. James Hunter, Mrs. G. D. Mincks, Mrs. A. F. Hawkins and many more.
The first president of the WSCS was the late Miss Kathryn Hawkins, followed by Mrs. James Felkner, who has also served as pianist for many years. Susie Sidles, Mrs. Richard Mincks, Mrs. Charley McGavran, Mrs. Gail Felkner and the present president, Mrs. Paul Felkner.
Methodist Ministers in Jerome, 1886-1953
[This section on the ministers who served the Jerome Methodist Church in the period 1886-1953 was previously posted to The Jerome Journal on April 21, 2009.]
Sunday School Superintendents
In spite of many changes the church has carried on for 100 years. Much of its success is due to the faithful Sunday school superintendents and teachers. After the new church was built Mrs. Joe Barton was superintendent. Harry Stark also was superintendent for many years, and the Mrs. G. D. Mincks.
More recent superintendents have been Paul McElvain and Richard Mincks. Present superintendent is Paul Felkner.
Sunday, February 22, 2009
The Daily Iowegian - 23 Feb 2007
----------------------------------------A smorgasbord will be served at the
The Daily Iowegian - 27 April 2007
----------------------------------A “Singing for Siding” musical event is planned for Saturday to help fund a face lift for the 100-plus-year-old
Going from 7 to 10 p.m., singing will be provided by Sharon Greff and Heritage from
Tickets are $8.50 at the door or two for $15 in advance.
The funds raised will go toward siding the church.