Showing posts with label Jackson Family. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Jackson Family. Show all posts

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Lincoln Township, Appanoose County

Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa
Edited by L. L. Taylor
Chicago: The S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1913
Page 406-407
------------------------------------------------
Lincoln township is bounded on the west by Wayne county, on the north by Johns township, on the east by Bellair and Pleasant townships, and on the south by Franklin township. It was organized in the '50s. Jerome postoffice was established a number of years ago but has been discontinued.

Lincoln has many good farms, the soil being arable and well drained by Cooper and Shoal creeks. Its people are industrious and progressive, as the well-tilled fields, good roads and fences, modern homes and farm buildings well attest. There are no better supported district schools in the county and the churches testify to the religious character of the men and women. The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul and the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroads enter the township.

Among the early settlers were John Moore, who came here in 1848. He is said to have killed thirty deer in one week, they were so plentiful. Mr. Moore was wont to tell of his experiences. Wolves were so numerous that the farmers' live stock were in constant danger from their ravages. He told of killing a buck, a fine, large fellow. After skinning and dressing it, he took a hind quarter to town and traded it for the family's first set of cups and saucers. No mill, at the time of his settlement here, was closer than Des Moines, so the family subsisted for a while on grated boiled corn. Their buckwheat flour was made by a coffee mill.

S. C. Van Ness left the Keystone state in 1857 and arrived in this county. He became one of the prosperous men of this township.

Peter Sidles, born in Ohio, became a resident of this county in 1859. He located on section 3 in this township, and soon had one of the finest farms in the community. He was a veteran of the Civil War and very prominent both in church and lodge circles.

A. S. Van Dorn, after four years' experience in the gold mines of California, settled down to farm life in this township in 1855. He prospered and attained a place in the estimation of his neighbors that was enviable.

John Maning [Manning], an Ohioan, settled here in 1854 and became prosperous and influential. His son Harvey was a member of the Eighth Iowa Volunteer Cavalry.

Jonathan Rinker, a Kentuckian by birth, came to this state from Indiana in 1845, bring with him his wife, Elizabeth. They first settled in Van Buren county, removing from there to Appanoose in 1851 and entering a tract of land. The family, consisting of eleven members, traveled to their new home in a wagon drawn by oxen, and when he arrived at his destination Mr. Rinker had but eleven dollars remaining. The boys of the family were Robert F., Oliver C., Franklin, Leander, Walter and George W.

C. R. Jackson located in this township in 1854, coming from Indiana.

Robert S. Lowry was born in Indiana. The year 1847 found him in Illinois and from that state he removed to Appanoose county in 1853, locating on section 20, this township. He became one of the largest landholders in the county, owning at one time over a thousand acres. Mr. Lowry dealth largely in live stock and reaped a generous profit from his operations, part of which he invested in bank stock.

M. Darrah and his father, Henry Darrah, were early in the county, coming here in 1856. In 1858 the son married Susannah Lawrer, daughter of William and Catherine Lawrer, early settlers in the county.

Addison Pendergast was born in Ripley county, Indiana, in 1848. In 1858 he settled in this township with his parents. He was a veteran of the Civil war.

Henry Moreland [Morlan], who married Belinda C. Jones, daughter of an Appanoose pioneer, settled in this town in 1852. In the following spring they removed to Independence township.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Jerome Memories - Part IV - Churches

  The first settlers were much interested in the religious welfare of their families, a Methodist church was organized in 1855 and services were held in homes until the construction of a school house.  Charter members were Calvin Jackson and wife, Jim Kinney and wife, Grandma Thomas, George Jackson and wife, Delila Jackson, mother of Calvin Jackson, eight in all.  The circuit rider's name was Alexander and the circuit covered the greater part of Appanoose County.
  Later circuit-rider preachers were Brothers Clark, Main, Hard, Mann, Orr, Harnerd, Corkhill, Stephenson, Hurt, Sinclair, Tennent and Hogle.  The Jacob Norris home was a popular stop enroute to Jerome.
  The first church was finished in October of 1871.  Early ministers included J. M. Louthridge and C. W. Powelson.  This church stood in the west part of town on the same site as the present church.  Lumber was hewed and hauled from Missouri and shingles and flooring were brought from Albia. Mrs. Calvin Jackson and Mrs. James Hagan boarded the laborers without pay and Mrs. Jackson wove carpets for the isles.  The records of 1875 show that the ministers salary was $600 and $75 was given to missions.  The first organ was bought in 1886 and Mamie Kinney was appointed organist, serving until her death in 1892.
  The present Methodist church was dedicated in 1911 during the time Rev. J. H. Krenmyre was pastor.  In 1939 a Sunday school room and a kitchen were added and dedicated to the memory of Mrs. Maria Pendergast and Miss Anna Gorman, whose gifts by will added to the contributions of the community and made the additions possible.  In 1953 the kitchen addition was made a part of the Sunday school room and a modern new kitchen was built, all made possible by the will of Anna Gorman and the labor of the membership of the church.
  In 1910 the Gospel Hall was built as another place of worship, leaders in the church being Andrew Gillispie and John and W. W. White.  The Croation Society building, commonly called the Catholic church, was built in the eastern part of Jerome in 1916, and the Catholic service began in 1919.
[From Memories of Jerome, Iowa, 1989 published for the 1989 Jerome Reunion.]

Memories of Jerome, Iowa - Part I

  The village of Jerome is located in Lincoln township, Appanoose County, Iowa.
  The names of the scattered settlers who came into the Jerome vicinity during the territorial days of Iowa have been for the most part long since forgot, but by the time Iowa became a state families establishing homes here had handed down names familiar to many residents of the area today.  Among the settlers who came in the late 40s and the early 50s to make this their home were John Moore, William Becknal, David Hawkins, John Criswell, Noah Stoner, C. R. Jackson, Henry Wilson, John F. Fuqua, S. C. Vanness, Peter Sidles and James Hagan.
  At this time much of the land was still government-owned and came into the hands of the early settlers by government patent.  Others bought from previous individual owners, even at this early date.  Parts of the farm owned by Peter Sidles is recorded as having been transferred from Robert C. Thorn to Joseph Delay to Peter Sidles, grandfather of the present owner.  Similar early transfers of property are recorded on land now owned by Kenneth Owen, earlier known as the Moore farm. This is true in other instances.
  One interesting case in Lincoln township shows land came into ownership by purchase at Chariton of soldier's grants, called bounty land, areas given by the government to the soldiers engaged in the military service of the United States.  Documents still available show sales of land from Mary Fisher, widow of Thomas Fisher, private in the War of 1812, Conrad Pinckard, private in the War of 1812, Henry Whitehead, private in the Seminole War, and David Cooney, private in a Florida War, all to Noah Stoner.  The purchase amounted to 320 acres, bought in 1856 through papers signed by Franklin Pierce, President of the United States.
  Men who came in the 60s were James Moore, Samuel Pendergast, D. S. Larimer, Henry Entzinger, Thomas Owen, Jacob Kinney, John Pendergast, Wm. D. McElvain, Wm. G. Crow, L. D. Dudley, James L. Buck and W. W. Bollman.  In 1870 Jesse G. Kinney established his home here. Ora, his son, now living in Seymour, recalls early memories of the time when there were only four homes in Jerome, those of Henry Wilson, Daniel Larimer, Calvin Jackson and James Hagan.
  As soon as the early settlers constructed their houses they began to establish a school and a church, thus starting a small village.  Horace W. Lyon was an early merchant, his place of business being in the home later occupied by the Larimers, a building that sat east of the present Carl Hamm home.  Mr. Lyon was said not be have been popular in the community for many objected because he sold liquor.  However, he had a blind son named Jerome who was very popular.  The town was named for this son.
  [From Memories of Jerome, Iowa, 1989 published for the 1989 Jerome Reunion.]

Friday, November 28, 2008

The Weekly Citizen - April 4, 1871

  Jerome Items --The farmers in this neighborhood are through sowing small grain ... The winter term of Miss M. Harner's school closed Friday, April 7th.  Two days were devoted to examinations ... Henry Wilson of this place has built a home on his farm near the new town of Seymour ... James Book is living on the farm formerly owned by Peter Mann ... C. R. Jackson, J. W. Pendergast, and J. Hagan are improving their farms by building fences, planting trees, shrubbery, &c .. D. F. Wilson, Joseph Moore and James Hagan are the carpenters of this place and are always ready to do a nice job.